Did I Do That??? – The phenomenon that is Anxious Mom-Brain

Do you know what’s worse than mom brain? — An anxious mom-brain. For those who don’t know, “mom-brain” is pretty much summed up in these two statements:

  • A state in which a new mother is forgetful, absent minded, or easily distracted.
  • The phenomenon known to mothers where their brains become useless piles of goo after being around their children for too long.

1463062630-laundry-mom.jpg

This form of “crazy” is tough enough. You walk into a room and forget what you’re doing there. You walk out of the house and know that you forgot something and come to find out, it’s your keys or your wallet or possibly your head (who knows?). It takes some time to really adjust and to be honest, for anyone wondering, it doesn’t really go away.

I currently have a load of laundry in the washer and in the dryer. I’m about 95% sure I actually dried the clothes in the dryer, which I think is pretty impressive; as for the clothes in the washer, well, if they have actually been cleaned is up for debate. I mean, cleaning them twice won’t hurt anyone but my light bill would probably be a little happier if the clothes only went on the washer run once. Along with this, my daughter is still in her PJs and in last night’s training pants. Or, as I like to say, her night-to-day look.

103240-Pajamas-All-Day.jpg

I have literally told my daughter that we need to change her undies at minimum 3 times and then, like a cat with a red laser pointer, I see the dirty dishes or the floors that need to be swept or the commercial with the new toy that I’m hoping my 3 year old doesn’t notice; and just as quickly as the thought came, it goes. I then focus on the dishes, and the floors and that damn commercial that plays every 15 minutes.

Clutter bogs me down. My brain doesn’t function on just a single wavelength and a dirty house, room or area is like adding lighter fluid to a bonfire. I can’t focus in that environment so my mind tells me to fix the problems as soon as I see them. It doesn’t make any sense really. It should be more like, divide and conquer but that’s not always easy to do.

11873776_10153145815172476_8610056635267852292_n

I’ve been trying to figure out how to break things down into more manageable “projects” and to-do lists are so incredibly cheesy but help a ton. Plus, checking something off feels like such an accomplishment, am I right?

It’s all about finding what works for you and hoping that tomorrow you have clean and dry underwear. Until then, good luck and wish me the best — Dishes are cleaned and trash has been taken out… but I don’t think my daughter is believing me anymore when I say that her PJs are just a really comfy all-day/everyday dress.

 

Join the conversation

