Hot Diggity-Dog

I have a confession to make. I’m not proud of this and some might call it a guilty pleasure but I need to get this off my chest before I tell you about our next little adventure pit-stop.

I, Amy, genuinely enjoy a gas station hot dog. ::yelp:: That’s right folks. I’ve said it. Those probably not safe for consumption, hot dogs you see at your local corner store that are cooked on the rotating thingamabob. I get so excited when I get one. The plumpiness, the beef, the whatever else. Yum!

As you all may know by now, my husband, being the chef that he is, looks at me like a leper, but like a really cute leper you’d still be friends with, every time I buy one. He’s supportive but still doesn’t quite get it.

Anyways, the moral of the story, is I like hot dogs. Good hot dogs. Slow cooked, not grilled, hot dogs that just hit the right spot in your stummy hole. And he took me to a hot dog lover’s paradise.

img_0150

Now, I’m not sure if anyone sees the irony here but we went to an amazing place called Good Dog Houston and OH EM GEE does it live up to its name. We only ordered one dog because we were on our way back home and really hadn’t planned on the stop but I cannot wait to go back and try everything on the menu. You’ll see how my hubby spoiled me in a bit too… it was amazing.

This place started out as a food truck and still has one but uses Texas beef dogs, artisanal bread and fresh/locally sourced ingredients and everything is made to order. You can taste the heart and care in every bite. Delicious doesn’t even begin to explain.

They are also just this cozy little place where you just feel like you could hang out, drink some craft beer and enjoy good food. Nothing to complain about.

img_0152

As you can see, these aren’t your stadium or BBQ hot dogs. These are some hardcore, full meal type of dogs.

Meet The Texican Dog.
Refried black beans, Oaxaca cheese, Avocado, Pickled Jalapeño, Red Onion, Crème Fresh, Cilantro, Cumin & Lime

It is exactly what you would think it would be. Awesome. It has the perfect amount of kick to it without being overbearing and the beef dog was wow. It was smoky and spicy and fresh. It was so worth the $7.50 price tag.

img_0153

Now, brace yourselves for this next cup of yumminess.

The Chocolate Rocky Road Milkshake.

It is even better than you would think it would be. Now it looks super rich and probably too much, but it isn’t at all. I mean, definitely share this if you can, unless this is all you’re going here for but wowza!

It’s creamy, chocolaty (duh!) and smooth. The fudge and whipped cream are a nice touch but to be honest, I got to the bottom and went, oh yeah, whipped cream, yay!

img_0151

See that bit of heaven to the left. That is a Rocky Road Square. It’s not quite a brownie, no quite a cookie and not quite a cake. It’s some kind of brow-cak-kie. I’m sure they would classify it as something specific but it was just the right amount of chocolate richness and gooey marshmallow and nuts. It was the perfect touch to an already pretty awesome chocolate milkshake and I suggest you try it one day.

img_0154

Bottom line, this place was worth the stop and the next time I go in, I’ll make sure I have an empty stomach and full wallet because they will be taking all of my money, I’m sure.

I hope you give it a shot and let me know what is a must-have the next time we stop in; or take a look at their website and menus and tell me what you think we should try.

After my experience, I have no doubt, I can’t go wrong.

 

3 thoughts on “Hot Diggity-Dog

Join the conversation

